Tawheed (Monotheism)

Etymologically is a noun derived from the root word which is a verb, ‘wahhada or One’, that means ‘oneness of something’. While in Islamic law, it makes Allah to be One in matters that are special or directed for Him only. The specialties including rububiyya, uluhiyya, and asma’ wa shifat (names and attributes) matters of Him. (See: ‘Al-Qaul Al-Mufid‘ 1:5)

Monotheism/Tawheed is divided in 3

First: Tawheed rububiyya-lordship

Believing in the singular Lordship and Oneness of Allah the Exalted in His being also acts, such as: creation, providence, sustenance, reviving, and causing death, afflicting disasters, giving benefits, and other acts that are specific actions to, from and by Allah (God) the Exalted. A Muslim must believe firmly that Allah the Exalted has no partner in his lordship. (Maintaining the unity of lordship)

Second: Tawheed uluhiyya-(Ibaadah)

All actions dedicated to Allah, Singling all religious, ritualistic and spiritual acts towards God(Allah) who is the object of all ones service, pleasure, invocation and worship. All supplications, seeking help, refuge, reliance, success, refuge, having hope, love and fear for God. in the Oneness of Allah the Exalted and Glorified in types of worship in Islamic law, such as: prayer, fasting, zakat (annual obligatory charity), hajj (performing pilgrimage to Mecca), vowing, slaughtering, anxiety, fear, hoping, and other kinds of worship.(Maintaining the unity of lordship)

Third: Tawheed asma’ wa sifat– names and attributes

Belief in the names and attributes of Allah. (Maintaining the unity of the names and attributes of Allah)

Mercy and and Anger are his names and attributes.


%d bloggers like this: